

## Countries and Territories that are Party to the Hague Convention Abolishing the Requirement of Legalization

Footnotes mentioning objections to accession indicate US objections only. Objections raised byother countries are not included unless the US has also raised an objection.January 2024

Albania Djibouti, Republic of (a former French territory)<sup>1</sup> Andorra Dominica<sup>2</sup> Anguilla (British territory) Dominican Republic Antiqua and Barbuda<sup>2</sup> Ecuador Argentina El Salvador Armenia Estonia Aruba (Netherlands territory) Falkland Islands (British territory) Australia Fiji<sup>2</sup> Finland Austria Azerbaiian France Bahama Islands<sup>2</sup> French Guiana (French department) Bahrain French Polynesia (French collectivity) Barbados<sup>2</sup> Georgia Belarus Germany Belgium Gibraltar (British territory) Gilbert Islands and Ellice Islands (see Kiribati and Belize Bermuda (British territory) Tuvalu)1 Bolivia Greece Bonaire (Netherlands Antilles territory) Grenada<sup>2</sup> Bosnia and Herzegovina Guadeloupe (French department) Botswana, Republic of (fka Bechuanaland Guatemala Protectorate)<sup>2</sup> Guernsey, Bailiwick of (British territory) Brazil Guyana British Antarctic Territory (British territory) Honduras Brunei Darussalam Hong Kong<sup>3</sup> Bulgaria Hungary Iceland Burundi Caicos Islands (see Turks and Caicos Islands) India Canada Indonesia Cape Verde Ireland Cayman Islands (British territory) Isle of Man (British territory) Chile Israel China, Peoples Republic of Italy Colombia lamaica Cook Islands Japan Costa Rica Jersey (British territory) Croatia Kazakhstan Curacao (Netherlands Antilles territory) Kiribati (fka Gilbert Islands)<sup>1</sup> Cyprus Korea, Republic of (South) Czech Republic Kosovo Denmark



Kyrgyzstan (Kyrgyz Republic) Latvia Lesotho (fka Basutoland)<sup>2</sup> Liberia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau<sup>3</sup> Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Malawi Malta Marshall Islands Martinique (French department) Mauritius<sup>2</sup> Mayotte (French department) Mexico Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro (one of the successor states to Yuqoslavia)<sup>2</sup> Montserrat (British territory) Morocco Namibia Netherlands Netherland Antilles (Netherlands territory) New Caledonia (French territory) New Zealand Niue Nicaragua Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland Portugal Reunion (French department) Romania Russian Federation Rwanda (effective June 5, 2024) Saba (Netherlands Antilles territory) St. Eustatius (Netherlands Antilles territory) St. Helena (British territory)

St. Kitts and Nevis St. Lucia St. Martin (French collectivity) St. Martin (Netherlands Antilles territory) St. Pierre and Miquelon (French collectivity) St. Vincent and the Grenadines<sup>2</sup> Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia (one of the successor states to Yugoslavia)<sup>2</sup> Seychelles Singapore Slovak Republic (Slovakia) Slovenia Solomon Islands (fka British Solomon Islands, former British territory)<sup>1</sup> South Africa South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands (British territory) Spain Suriname Swaziland, Kingdom of<sup>2</sup> Sweden Switzerland Tajikistan Tonga<sup>2</sup> Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turks and Caicos Islands (British territory) Tuvalu (fka Ellice Islands)<sup>1</sup> Ukraine United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United States of America Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu (fka New Hebrides, a former British  $territory)^2$ Venezuela Virgin Islands (British territory) Wallis and Futuna Islands (French territory)





## Footnotes:

<sup>1</sup> Since receiving or declaring independence, this party has not made any declaration regarding continuation in force of the Hague Convention Abolishing the Requirement of Legalization for Foreign Public Documents. Though many Competent Authorities view these, and the states below, as parties to the Convention, in the absence of any formal declaration, one should consult the appropriate consular office in question or the US Department of State prior to reliance on an Apostille. Though some Competent Authorities may prepare Apostilles, the US Department of State currently does not issue Apostilles for: Angola, Comoros Islands, Guyana, Kosovo, Mozambique, and Zimbabwe.

<sup>2</sup> This country achieved independence and declared that it considers itself bound by the Convention or acceded to the Convention.

<sup>3</sup> This Convention applies to the Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macau only, as a result of extensions made by the UK and Portugal, respectively. Upon the restoration of Hong Kong and Macau, China declared that the Convention will continue to apply for Hong Kong and Macau.

<sup>4</sup> The US does not recognize the claims of other nations in Antarctica. It is doubtful that an Apostille can be obtained in the US for use in the British Antarctic Territory.

<sup>5</sup> Documents originating from US territories (American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and Virgin Islands) destined for other countries do require an Apostille, as is true for Hague party countries preparing documents destined for use in US territories. However, documents prepared in the US for use in US territories, and vice-versa, may simply require notarization or certification.

